Create a Zine

For information about Zines, the library's Zine collection and Zine making visit the Zine Guide

Zine templates:

• 8-page zine templates:  8 page zine template , https://www.lazinefest.com/resources
  • Watch the video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ9Jw4HnJpw​​
     

• https://anatomicair.com/book-templates/

• https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1PG4nvFwrk1ZgfIwI5-oiKgulC8YAyvN6Cwh7ZJZ7bLc/edit#slide=id.p

Design your Zine: Text and images can be inserted in to the templates prior to printing.  Some of our favorite sites for images include:

• Old Book Illustrations:  https://www.oldbookillustrations.com/
• Nature Illustrations:  http://www.openculture.com/2017/11/two-million-wondrous-nature-illustrations-put-online-by-the-biodiversity-heritage-library.html
• Library of Congress Digital Images:  https://www.loc.gov/collections/
• New York Public Library Digital Collections:  https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/
• Dictionnaire Universel D'histoire Naturelle: https://www.rawpixel.com/board/77996/dictionnaire-universel-dhistoire-naturelle

When designing your 8-page zine in the Word template, be sure to refer to the illustration below to be sure your content are in the correct orientation so the pages are all "right side up" after the zine is printed and folded.

For more information about the Collins Library Zine collection, information about zines, etc. please visit our Zine page.

Dictionary Art

Create a unique piece of dictionary art.

Project Instructions    

Sew a Cup Sleeve

Project Instructions:  Cup cozy instructions Pattern Template:  Cup cozy template

3-Hole Pamphlet Book

Project Instructions: 3-hole pamphlet instructions

Print a Lithophane​

Traditionally, a lithophane is an etched or molded artwork in very thin translucent porcelain that can only be seen clearly when back lit with a light source. It is a design or scene that appears "en grisaille" (in gray) tones.

The word "lithophane" derives from Greek "litho", which is from "lithos" which means stone or rock, and "phainein" meaning "to cause to appear" or "to cause to appear suddenly". From this is derived a meaning for lithophane of "light in stone" or to "appear in stone" as the three-dimensional image appears suddenly when lit with a back light source.

Lithophanes date back to the 1800s, when they were traditionally carved from wax, molded in plaster, then cast and fired in porcelain.

A 3D printer allows one to create a lithophane from almost any photograph using modern technology bringing the old and new together.  The 3D printer provides a level of precision in the thickness of the material being printed creating the translucence needed to allow light to shine through the material and achieve the many shades of gray needed to produce the image when backlit.

Sources:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lithophane

https://formlabs.com/blog/make-your-own-3d-printed-lithoform/

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2497763

Project Instructions:  3D printed Lithophane instructions

Create a piece of Blackout Poetry

Transform a page from one of the discarded books or journals in the Makerspace into a new and unique piece of art and poetry.

Some helpful sites:

https://www.bustle.com/p/what-is-blackout-poetry-these-fascinating-poems-are-created-from-existing-art-78781

https://www.scholastic.com/teachers/blog-posts/john-depasquale/blackout-poetry/

https://www.powerpoetry.org/actions/5-tips-creating-blackout-poetry

Virtual Blackout Poetry:  https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2014/multimedia/blackout-poetry.html

https://twitter.com/biackedpoetry	http://portfolios.sva.edu/gallery/32903279/Humument-blackout-poetry