Curriculum - Education - Teaching - Collins Memorial Library at University of Puget Sound

Curriculum Resources: Subject & Primary Sources

American Decades Primary Sources (1900-1999) This link opens in a new window
Includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade.
American Decades Primary Sources (2000-2009) This link opens in a new window
Includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade.
Digital Collections: Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials including multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Primary source material that explores the many facets of LGBTQ history. Users will find page images of a mixture of activist groups’ organizational papers, flyers and pamphlets, NGO and Governmental reports, periodicals, newsletters, personal papers, legal documents and more.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic entries, also contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of digitized primary and secondary sources for the study of history. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips.

Hot Topics & Opposing Viewpoints

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports that cover background, main issues, pro/con, next steps, and further reading. Use the Issue Tracker to find related CQ reports and track an issue over time.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A full text database designed to provide users with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
TOPICsearch (Current Events) This link opens in a new window
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

Curriculum Resources: General

There are many resources available through the library that contain materials and information that can be used to develop curriculum materials for all grade levels. Types of materials found in these resources are magazines for all reading levels, primary source documents, biographies, reference materials, images and photos, maps, flags, literary criticism, opposing viewpoints, film clips, and much more.

Elementary: In Context This link opens in a new window
Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and multimedia reference essentials. Designed primarily for K-12 educators and students, it provides full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and top-quality multimedia (audio/video) files.
High School: In Context This link opens in a new window
Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.
High School Edition: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text of popular, high school magazines. Also provides full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps & flags. Can be searched by Lexile Reading Level.
Middle School: In Context This link opens in a new window
Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Also contains biographies, primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Contains full text of popular elementary school magazines. All articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). The database also contains the American Heritage Children’s Dictionary and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Designed for elementary age students, SIRS Discoverer contains magazines, newspapers, reference books and web sites all selected for their educational content, reliability, relevance, interest, age-appropriateness, and level of readability. Content is assigned a reading level (easy, moderate, or challenging) based on content, interest, and readability. Because it includes middle and elementary curriculum topics, Discoverer can be easily integrated into classroom activities. Lexile Reading Levels are included. State and national standards search helps educators locate standards-aligned articles and other resources.

Curriculum Resources: Literature

Learning: Literature This link opens in a new window
A collection of resources for the study of literature in schools.
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes overviews by topic, author, and work, as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.