Articles - Education - Teaching - Collins Memorial Library at University of Puget Sound

Search ERIC

ERIC is the primary tool used by educators to find information related to all aspects of education

Produced by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education the database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and the Resources in Education Index. ERIC covers journals related to all aspects of education, and ERIC documents, which include curriculum guides, reports, and conference papers.

Subject Databases

Diversity Studies: OneFile
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Education Database
Gives users access to top educational publications. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Educator's Reference Complete: OneFile
Gain insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. Best for educators, administrators, and education students.
Professional Development Collection (Education) This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, provides full-text of high quality education journals, including many peer-reviewed titles, it also contains educational reports.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed periodicals. Topics include: Assessment, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)

Academic OneFile
Access articles from an academic research database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Education, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.