Collins Memorial Library: Business & Leadership: Articles

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Business News Sources

Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

Financial Times
International daily newspaper with a special emphasis on business and economic news. One month embargo of recent issues. Recent print copies are available at the circulation desk.

Access World News
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review.
Regional Business News Plus
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
US Newsstream
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.

Recommended Databases

Business Source Premier
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline, and Archive. Includes key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Business: OneFile
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
Business Insights
In-depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, market research reports, company rankings, histories, and full-text periodical articles. Includes in-depth analysis of global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Market Research Collection
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments; Snapshots - market research overviews on industries and countries.
EconLit with Full Text
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Leadership and Management: OneFile
Search authoritative periodical content covering topics like organizational dynamics, adult learning, and more. Updated daily.

Additional Databases

Here are additional databases that may help you with your research.

Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains essential publications for information about the financial services industry, including accounting, tax, banking, and industry trends.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices.
Economics and Theory: OneFile
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
Entrepreneurship: Business
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Entrepreneurship: OneFile
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily.
GreenFILE
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
Legal Collection
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.