Collins Memorial Library: Business & Leadership: Primary Sources

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information. Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

a novel
a painting
a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

a political, social, or economic theory
a dataset
the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online.

We look forward to assisting you!

Business Primary Sources

SEC Next-Generation EDGAR System
Since 1934, the Securities & Exchange Commission has required disclosure in forms and documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information. The SEC's new system requires data disclosure — the next step to improve how investors find and use information.
World Bank Open Data
"Recognizing that transparency and accountability are essential to development, the World Bank Group provides free access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years."
Federal Reserve Beige Book
"Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources."

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Business & Leadership

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Albert W. Bash Papers, 1890-1910, contain correspondence, maps, photographs and newspaper clippings documenting Bash's involvement in the development of a scheme to extend U.S. railway lines across the Pacific Ocean and on through mainland China between 1895 and 1912. Bash was associated with the American China Development Company and the China Investment and Construction Company.