Collins Memorial Library: Business & Leadership: Getting Started

What's a tertiary source?

Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:

Almanacs
Chronologies
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Directories
Fact books
Guidebooks
Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
Manuals
Textbooks

These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.

Sage Reference

Sage provides online Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries that cover topics Business & Leadership.

SAGE Knowledge
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.

Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Encyclopedia of business information sources by Paul Wasserman
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
This is a comprehensive listing of business related finding aids including abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries, financial ratios, handbooks and manuals, online databases, periodicals and newsletters, price sources, research centers and institutes, statistical sources trade associations and professional societies, and other related sources of information on each topic.
Encyclopedia of Leadership by George R Goethals; Georgia Jones Sorenson; James MacGregor Burns
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2004
Interdisciplinary coverage of the field of leadership studies.
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Burton S Kaliski
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2006
Designed for the non-specialist, this is a complete reference covering finance and banking, accounting, marketing, management, and information systems. Contributors include academics and business scholars from leading business programs.