Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 369: Chinese Art in the 20th and 21st centuries: Pan Tianshou Bibliography

Directions for Bibliography Activity

The purpose of this exercise is to compile a bibliography of articles, books, images, and other sources by and about Pan Tianshou in English.

For best results, search "Pan Tianshou" in quotes.
Limit search results to English whenever possible.
Cite your sources using Chicago Manual of Style. Indicate the source where you found the item and a link. Ex. Retrieved from Art Full Text http://ezproxy.ups.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=84390034&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Include only scholarly works.
If there is an abstract, include it.
Create a word document and upload it to the course Arrange citations alphabetically by last name. Upload to Moodle site. Include your name.

Background Sources

Gale eBooks
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Oxford Reference
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Art Online (Oxford)
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of 'The Dictionary of Art,' and gives users access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links and images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as entries and images from the 'Oxford Companion to Western Art,' the 'Concise Dictionary of Art Terms,' and 'Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.' Thematic timelines and learning resources are also included.

Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Exhibitions

How to Cite Exhibitions in Chicago Manual of Style:

Title of Exhibit. Name of Museum. Location of Museum. Date of Exhibition.

Search Google to find exhibitions of Pan Tianshou's works.

Websites

How to Cite Websites in Chicago Manual of Style:

Last Name, First Name (if known). "Title of Website." Publishing organization or name of website. Publication date and/or access date if available. URL.

Books & More

How to Cite Books in Chicago Manual of Style:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Primo
For books, search Collins and Summit. Limit search results to English.
WorldCat
A catalog of materials in libraries worldwide.
Limit to English. When you get the search results, limit format to book (ebook, print book, dissertation/thesis).

Academic Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic books covering all academic disciplines.

Asia Art Archive
includes books and catalogues, audiovisual material, rare periodicals, primary source material, and individual personal archives.
Google Books
Include books that have at least a paragraph on Pan Tianshou.

How to Cite a Dissertation in Chicago Manual of Style:

Last Name, First Name. Dissertation Title. PhD. diss., Name of Academic Institution, year.

ProQuest Dissertation Express
Use this source to find dissertations.

Images

How to Cite Images in Chicago Manual of Style:

Last Name, First Name. Image Title. Month Date, Year Created. Collection, Museum/Institution, Location.

How to Cite YouTube Videos in Chicago Manual of Style:

Last Name, First Name. Video Title. Filmed [Month Year]. YouTube video, Duration. Posted [Month Year]. Video URL.

Artstor on JSTOR
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports.

Google Arts & Culture
Images from museums around the world
Freer Sackler
The Smithsonian's museum of Asian art
National Museum of China
Artnet
Auction site for contemporary and modern art
YouTube

Articles

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This bibliography covers the study of modern and contemporary art, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.