In 2019 we changed our subscription with American Chemical Society (ACS). We switched from the all collection to the core collection. We also subscribe to 4 titles separate from the collection. The core collection is through Orbis and the 4 titles are at a discounted rate but direct with the publisher.

Core Titles:

ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces.                                               Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry

ACS Catalysis                                                                                 Journal of Chemical Education

ACS Nano                                                                                       Journal of Medicinal Chemistry

Analytical Chemistry                                                                       Journal of the American Chemical Society

Biochemistry                                                                                   Langmuir

C&EN Global Enterprise                                                                 Macromolecules

Chemical Reviews                                                                          Nano Letters

Chemistry of Materials                                                                    Organic Letters

Environmental Science & Technology                                            The Journal of Organic Chemistry

Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research                                The Journal of Physical Chemistry A, B, & C

Inorganic Chemistry

Individual Subscriptions:

Accounts of Chemical Research

ACS Macro Letters

Journal of Natural Products

Organometallics

In addition to the above titles we get 250 tokens with the Core subscription that can be used on anything on the ACS website that we do not subscribe to or have post cancellation access to. This works well for us, but the further we get from the post cancellation access more tokens are going to need to be purchased. For more information about the tokens see the ACS tokens tab on this LibGuide under the Non-COUNTER / SUISHI compliant publishers section.

For 2021 we joined the Orbis deal for a package that includes all Duke titles. Prior to 2021 we subscribed to individual titles through Harrassowitz. For 2021 we determined that it would save us money to join the deal rather than subscribe to individual titles. There are two collections: standard and expanded. We subscribe to the expanded collection.

Title List:

2/2022 - Reviewed turnaway data to determine if it was high enough to justify a purchase of any archival journal access. There was very little turnaway data. We decided not to pursue at this time.

The pricing on the spreadsheet for this package is what we pay for the titles as part of the package.

In Fall 2017 we entered a 3 year deal with Ovid to limit the price increase for Ovid journals to 6%. The deal started in January 2018. This deal should have renewed for 2021. There was no mention of renewal of the deal, but the quote they sent was for a 6% increase. As many vendors were reducing price increases or eliminating price increases for 2021, because of COVID. We were able to negotiate the 6% increase down to a 3% increase.

Oxford is a journal that we pay a package price for. The "subscription" prices that are included on the Journal Renewals spreadsheet Oxford tab is the publisher's list price.

Above is the overall package price, usage, and cost per use (CPU).

On the journal spreadsheet I have detailed usage, publisher price, and CPU based on publisher price. I also include CPU based on the price per title in the package. Since the price per title is not itemized on the invoice, I get this by dividing the package price by the number of titles [335]. In 2018 this gives me $111.76. We were paying $111.76 for each of the titles in the package in 2018. 

Number of titles in package:

2020: 352 ($116.08)

2021: 344 ($135.36)

2022: 339

Analysis of Oxford package completed October 2020 by Dusty Gorman.

There are 336 journal titles in the Oxford package.

2018 Publisher's Price: $265,280.84

2019 Publisher's Price: $279,599.32

2020 Publisher's Price: $293,347.00

2020 Package Price: $40,861.72

2020 Package Savings: $252,485.28

Usage from 2017-the first part of 2020

Yellow Titles = usage between 10-19

Green Titles = usage between 20-49

Red Titles = usage over 50

# of yellow, green, and red titles: 214

2018 Publisher's Price: $194,684.84

2019 Publisher's Price: $205,767.32

2020 Publisher's Price: $215,758.00

2020 Package Savings: $174,896.28

# of green and red titles: 156

2018 Publisher's Price: $147,219.84

2019 Publisher's Price: $155,006.32

2020 Publisher's Price: $162,332.00

2020 Package Savings: $121,470.28

# of red titles: 62

2018 Publisher's Price: $61,338.84

2019 Publisher's Price: $65,049.00

2020 Publisher's Price: $68,342.00

2020 Package Savings: $27,480.28

I did not take a sum of the usage to analyze usage, this was usage per year. Only one year had to be highlighted for it to be included in the analysis. For example, say Journal of Basket Weaving had 6 uses in 2017, 5 uses in 2018, 3 uses in 2019, and 0 uses in 2020, instead of being a yellow title, it would not be included in the analysis. If instead 2017 had 19 uses and all of the other years had the same usage as in the previous example, it would be considered in a yellow title, and would be included with the numbers for the yellow, green, and red titles.

In October/November 2019 I did a deep evaluation of Sage. I have included some of the evaluations below. The Sage Collections Evaluation spreadsheet is a comparison between Sage 2012 and the other collections. Currently we have the Sage 2012 collection and subscribe to a few titles individually that are not part of the package. I was trying to determine if we should change our package. The Sage 2019 Package Review spreadsheet is a look at the titles that get the most usage. Each spreadsheet has a detailed key. Let me know if you would like more information about either of these spreadsheets. The Comparison Package vs List Price explanation document is a written evaluation of the data in the Sage 2019 Package Review spreadsheet.

Springer is paid as one overall invoice. The pricing on the Journal Renewal spreadsheet is the publisher price for the journals, not the price we pay as part of the package. In the cost per use on the spreadsheet I include the cost per use (CPU) based on the publisher price and on the price per title of the package (package price / # of titles in package).

Wiley Package:

Information needed for Journal Renewal Google Spreadsheet:

Wiley is complicated. The journals included on the Wiley tab in the spreadsheet are just the titles we pay for (subscribe to). There is an additional part that are the titles we pay for as the collection. Overall usage is broken down below.

For detailed information about the titles we pay for in the Wiley package please see the Journal Renewal Google spreadsheet. The post cancellation access (PCA access) is still being researched. Over the years, with different license agreements, adding titles, dropping titles, and new titles, this is different for the different titles. When we have a better grasp of what the PCA is for Wiley it will be added to the spreadsheet. 

For review purposes I am going to focus on two parts of our Wiley journal usage and pricing. The titles we pay for (subscribe to) [Core] and the titles that come with our package [Full]. 

Pricing:

2017: $80,562.38 (this is broken up into two parts: core [$80,118.63] and full [$443.75]).

2018: $82,823.72 (this is broken up into two parts: core [$82,364.24] and full [$459.48]).

2019: $72,081.84 (this is broken up into two parts: core [$71,608.72] and full [$473.12]). (The reason this year is $10,000 less than 2018 is because we did not renew Angewandte Chemie).

2020: $74,591 (this is broken up into two parts: core [$74,178] and full [$473]).

2021: $74,231.21 (this is broken up into two parts: core [$73,761.56] and full [$469.65].

CAUTION: The Wiley rep has indicated that the full collection price we are paying is inaccurate (too low) and will get modified. Unknown if that will result in a big price jump.

Usage:

The usage reports for Wiley journals are made up of paid subscription titles, titles that come with the package, post cancelation titles, and open access titles. The Journal Renewal Google spreadsheet column for Wiley gives the information for the Wiley titles we pay for (not including the titles we get as part of the package). Attached below are the journal usage reports for Wiley for 2017-2020. Here is a breakdown of the usage:

The total usage for core journals is the usage for the journals we pay for. The full usage is the usage for the journals that come with the package. This usage is a little complicated to to get. To get this usage I pull the full collection titles compare and remove the core titles. Than I compare the titles in the full collection (minus the core titles) to the usage report. It is not exact. I did this last year as well and got a number about 3,000-4,000 less uses, I am not sure why there is such a difference in numbers. This number needs to be considered a ball park number. Total journal usage by year includes ALL Wiley journal usage. This includes the titles we pay for, the titles that come with the package, the titles that we only have post cancellation access to, and open access journals.

* Stands for partial usage.