Collins Memorial Library: Find News: National News

Alternative Press

Alt-PressWatch
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Focus is on local ethnic preses and their related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Covers communities from across the US.

The Village Voice
"As the nation's first and largest alternative newsweekly, the Voice maintains the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it first embraced when it began publishing more than fifty years ago."

Roll Call

Roll Call is a unique newspaper that covers the United States Congress. Published four times per week when Congress is in session (once per week when in recess), Roll Call covers House and Senate activity and the people and issues involved in the Congressional arena. Additionally, it covers news about Members and their staffs; campaign news, finance and race-by-race analysis; issue briefs; analyses of House and Senate legislative activity and upcoming events; lobbying information; and general news about Capitol Hill.

Free Online News Sources

The New York Times

New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.

Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/ and search for "University of Puget Sound."

Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.

If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.

Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.

National News Coverage

Access World News
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 70 national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for 376 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources includingThe Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review. Featured is national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage begins in 1980.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national news sources including newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Nexis also covers regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.