Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many scholars in the academic disciplines of literary studies, art, and communication studies have a keen interest in exploring and interpreting artists' books. Each of the databases below will help you identify scholarly articles written from these disciplinary perspectives.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Other Universities' Book Arts Collections
Reed College Artists' Books
This is the website for Reed College's collection of artists' books, located in their Special Collections. Their collection holds 20th century and contemporary artists' books as well as ones from the turn of the last century.
University of Washington Artists' Book Collection
This UW libguide provides an introduction to the University of Washington's collection of artists' books.
23 Sandy Gallery
Online gallery maintained by Laura Russell, offers information and resources on book art and artists.
Bainbridge Island Museum of Art
Bainbridge Island Museum of Art has a large collection of artists' books. They hold in-person tours of their artists' books during drop-in hours, and have a wide variety of online book tours available.
Published monthly by Sara Bodman of the Centre for Fine Print Research at the University of the West of England, Bristol, UK.
Book Arts Web
This comprehensive web site provides access to myriad of resources including links to book arts organizations, publications, education materials, online exhibitions, blogs, papermaking, letterpress and printing resources, as well as basic copyright information.
Booklyn is an artist-run nonprofit based in Brooklyn. It supports artists and organizations committed to environmental and social justice.
A foundation supporting the book arts, with an international conference held every two years.
Vamp & Tramp
A vendor of artists’ books, the website provides a listing of current artists and works for purchase.
Women's Studio Workshop
Supporting women in the book and paper arts, this organization offers residencies as well as represents book artists.