Collins Memorial Library: Library Resources for Puget Sound Staff: Music & Media

Search Primo

E-books

E-books in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search!

Consult the e-books guide to find out more about finding and using our growing e-book collection.

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online and Kanopy are streaming media services which provide access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Is a video subscription that delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Kanopy
Provides access to thousands of award-winning films, thought-provoking documentaries, latest festival hits, classic films, TV series, and more. The collection of films support a wide variety of subject areas including the arts, media studies, politics, diversity, equity and inclusion, LGBTQAI+, psychology, business, sciences, health, education, history.

Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.

Search for films by title, subject, keywords, or browse by subject. Register with Kanopy to utilize features such as playlists, clips, sharing, embedding, and creating a watch list for future viewing.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.

Music Resources

Streaming Music

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes over 630,000 tracks, including classical, jazz, world and folk music. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.

The Naxos Music Library iPhone App is now live! You can listen to your personal and account created playlists on the iPhone and iPod Touch.

In the iTunes Store, search Naxos.
Click on “get app.”
Enter your Apple ID and download the app.
Once installed, go to the library’s link to Naxos Music Library.
Any playlist in your account folder or personal folder will be available.
If you don’t have a playlist, you can create one by clicking the tab below the Naxos banner.
Then click on “sign up.”

Note: The Library’s Naxos license has a limit of 15 simultaneous users and is intended for teaching and learning. Please give priority to students and faculty.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
A collection of jazz available streaming online. Select works by label, artist, composer or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.

Access limited to 2 simultaneous users. Please logout when leaving Naxos.

Music CDs

Search Primo to find cd music recording in the library's collection and beyond. Search Primo composer, musician, title, or keyword. If you cannot find what you need in the first few results, use the 'Refine my Results' by 'Resource Type' and limit to Audio CDs. CDs are shelved by number in cabinets on the lower level of the library. They may be checked out for six days with one renewal.