Collins Memorial Library: PSYC 102: Writing and Thinking in Psychology: Articles

Search PsycINFO

PsycINFO is the primary tool used by psychologists to find information related to all aspects of psychology.

Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) it identifies scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Ninety-nine percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.

Recommended Databases for Psychology

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the fields of Economics, and Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides coverage of full text journals, including many peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology: OneFile
Find authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology.
Psychology Database
Provides abstracts, indexing and some full-text, for psychology journals. Many titles are also indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Search Google Scholar

Subject Databases

The databases listed here all contain content that may be useful for psychological research.

Diversity Studies: OneFile
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
PTSDpubs
Provides access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
SocINDEX
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

APA PSYCINFO TOPIC GUIDE

APA PSYCINFO TOPIC GUIDE