Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information. Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.
Examples in the humanities:
Examples in the social sciences:
Example in the sciences:
The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.
Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online.
We look forward to assisting you!
UN Statistics Division and UNdata are gateways that also include statistics from:
The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.
A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.
The Albert W. Bash Papers, 1890-1910, contain correspondence, maps, photographs and newspaper clippings documenting Bash's involvement in the development of a scheme to extend U.S. railway lines across the Pacific Ocean and on through mainland China between 1895 and 1912.
The Frank Williston papers, 1924-1966, was a professor at the University of Puget Sound prior to WWII, a specialist in Far Eastern affairs, his papers contain material on the political, historical and economic conditions in China, Japan, Manchuria, Malaya, Burma, Korea, Indonesia, Vietnam and Southeast Asia.
The Claire and Don Egge Collection on China, 1987-1999, includes English-language newspaper clippings from the People's Republic of China, 1987-1990, which focus on political and economic questions and the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989. Also included are books and pamphlets on Chinese education, culture, politics, economics, and business, maps, and similar material collected by an American couple living and teaching for four years in China.
