Collins Memorial Library: International Political Economy: Getting Started

What's a tertiary source?

Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:

Almanacs
Chronologies
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Directories
Fact books
Guidebooks
Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
Manuals
Textbooks

These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.

Sage Knowledge

Sage provides online Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Dictionaries that cover topics in the Social Sciences.

Sage Knowledge Online

Starting Points

Europa World
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.

Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy by R. J. Barry Jones
Call Number: REF HF1359 .R68 2001 v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia devoted to major theories, issues, and key players in the field of IPE.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy. (Two Volume Set) by Kenneth A. Reinert (Editor); Ramkishen S. Rajan (Editor); Amy Joycelyn Glass (Editor); Lewis S. Davis (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2009
Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.
Encyclopedia of the Global Economy by David E. O'Connor
Call Number: REF HF1359 O28 2006 v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2005
Guide to researching issues related to IPE. See Vol. 1 for timelines, primary documents, and statistics; Vol. 2 offers overviews of major topics, theories, and key players in the global economy
Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by Andrew Holden (Editor); David A. Fennell (Editor)
Call Number: G155.A1 H65 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Explores and critically evaluates the debates and controversies inherent to tourism's relationship with nature, especially pertinent at a time of major re-evaluation of our relationship with the environment as a consequence of the environmental problems we now face.