Skip to Main Content

Greek, Latin, & Ancient Mediterranean Studies 211: Greek History

Finding Articles

Not sure where to start?  You have three broad strategies that you can try:

  • Browse key Classics journals
  • Search the subject database, L'année philologique
  • Search multidisciplinary ejournal databases

Browse Scholarly Journals

If you're not sure yet what you're interested in, or you're interested in so many different aspects of Greek history that you can't decide where to focus, you might want to just browse through scholarly journals to see what catches your eye.  Collins Library subscribes to several scholarly journals in the interdisciplinary field of Classics, including the three named below:

Search the Subject Database

Like most other disciplines, Classics has a subject-specific database, called L'année philologique.  Subject databases index scholarly materials (books, chapters in books, scholarly articles, dissertations) that will be of interest to researchers within that discipline. 

For the article review assignment, you'll want to limit your results to just articles. Click on the "check for full text" link to see if Collins Library has the journal (green dot) or you need to order it through interlibrary loan (yellow dot).

Ejournal Databases

Some databases offer full-text access to journals across multiple disciplines.  These can be wonderful, convenient resources, but please be mindful of three important limitations:

  • Date range of available journal issues:  JSTOR does not include current issues of journals.  Project Muse does not include deep backfiles of journal issues.  Sometimes the date (currency) of an article will be vitally important, so if you need very recently published material, JSTOR likely isn't your best choice.
  • Limited selection of journals:  A subject database indexes ALL journals that are relevant to the discipline, but ejournal databases offer only a subset of these.  You may miss an important article on your topic if you rely only on an ejournal database.
  • Multidisciplinary search results:  Sometimes the multidisicplinary range of journals is ideal for your research.  Other times, depending on the assignment, it will be very important for you to look within just one discipline.  Ask your professor if you're unsure.