Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 361: Roman Art: Articles

Journals

Below are some suggested scholarly journals that publish articles about Roman art and history.

American Journal of Archaeology (print and online)

Journal of Roman Studies (print and online)

Art Bulletin (print and online)

Journal of Roman Archaeology (print)

Greek, Roman and Byzantine studies (print and online)

Bryn Mawr Classical Review (online)
reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies

Greece and Rome (print and online)

Classical World (print and online)

Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Articles

To find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles in art, use the databases listed below. If the article is not available fulltext, search for it using Primo Journal Search. It lists the journals, newspapers, and magazines owned by the library. Location and format are given. Some are electronic, while others may be in print or microform. Annual publications appear in Primo. Still can't find it? Request the item on interlibrary loan.

Recommended Databases

Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.
Bibliography of the History of Art & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage spans European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Topics include visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Art Index Retrospective
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Bibliographic information covering all aspects of the humanities and social sciences from as far back as 1907, includes book reviews.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes material in the areas of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.