Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 361: Roman Art: Images and Web Links

Finding Images, Monuments and Ideas

The Getty Museum
Check antiquities and type "Roman" into the search box to begin a general search.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
You can search the collection by date, geographic area, object type, or department; note that Greek and Roman art are part of the same department.
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
You can do a quick tour of major sections of the ancient collection here and you can also search the collection for particular themes or objects.
Louvre
Search the Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities Department or do a general collection search.
British Museum Online Collection
Museo Nazionale Etrusco di Villa Giulia
In Italian. See Selezione di opere for images.
Google Art Project
Offers access to images in museums (Tate, Met, Uffizi, etc) from around the world.

Artstor on JSTOR
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports.

Oxford Art Online
Tip: You can limit your search to images by checking the "images" box below the search box.

Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.

Try these search strategies in Primo:

LacusCurtius: A Gateway to Ancient Roman
- Perseus Digital Library
  Includes primary and secondary materials for the study of the Greco-Roman world, many in English translation.
Art History: Resources on the Web
De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families
American Numismatic Society
contains information on more than 600,000 objects in the Society’s collections. These include, coins, paper money, tokens, ‘primitive’ money, medals and decorations, from all parts of the world, and all periods in which such objects have been produced.