Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 325 The Cutting Edge: Modern and Contemporary Art and Global Contexts: Articles & Databases

Art Related Databases

These subject databases may be especially useful for your research projects for this class.

Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
This bibliography covers the study of modern and contemporary art, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Bibliography of the History of Art & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage spans European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Topics include visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.

Newspapers

New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review.
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases provide access to many scholarly journals and other resources in the Humanities, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. However, when you are specifically undertaking interdisciplinary research, these databases can be excellent starting places.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.

Other Relevant Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Internet are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Gender Studies: OneFile
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
Black Studies Center
Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more. Including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Database Search Tips

Although databases may vary in scope, they have some common search features which can be used in constructing a search.

Phrase Searching: Use quotation marks around the words that are part of a phrase
- "race in art"
Use AND to connect words that must appear in a document.
- Hockney AND "stage design"
Use OR for related or synonymous terms.
- modernism OR "modern art"
Use parentheses to group a search and combine it with another search.
- "Jacob Lawrence" AND (paintings OR murals)
Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.
- paint* retrieves paint, paints, painters, painting, etc.

Note: Many databases offer an advanced search option to refine your results by type of publication, language, date, etc.

Finding Articles & Journals in Primo

Primo provides access to articles from selected databases (ProQuest, Jstor, Project Muse, etc.).

To search for journal articles, do an advanced search. Type keywords and change material type to articles. See example below.

To search a journal title, do an advanced search. Change the drop down menu to title. Type the title in quote marks and change material type to journals. See example below.

Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.