Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 276: Studies in Western Art II

Search for Articles

Search these sources to find information about artists in journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Websites

Art cyclopedia

Modern and Contemporary Artists and Art - Major modern and contemporary visual artists

Oxford Art Online

Search Oxford Art Online

Covers biographies, criticism, country surveys, artistic styles and movements, art forms, subject matter and iconography, and techniques.

Information is drawn from Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Note: To access this resource off campus, use this link. There is a limit of 3 simultaneous users

Oxford Reference Online

Search Oxford Reference Online

This resource covers many subjects, including art, architecture, and religion. Reference works such as the Oxford Dictionary of  the Christian Church, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, the Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, and the Oxford Dictionary of Art, Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World,  are a few of the many titles available.

Note: To access off campus, use this link.

Search for Books

Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond.

Request books held by Summit libraries for delivery to Collins Library within 3-5 days.

Use the Collins Catalog to find only materials held at this library.

Tips for Searching Books

  • Search the artist as both subject and author.
  • If you can't find a book about the artist, look for books about the movement, genre, or time period.
  • Try a keyword search. Look through the results list for a title that seems relevant. Click on the link to get to the full record and look through the list of subjects. Click on one of the subjects to retrieve more titles on the same subject.
  • Use quote marks to search phrases. Ex. "art nouveau"
  • To look for a particular book, change the drop down menu to author or title.
  • Use AND to narrow a search.
  • When searching Puget Sound WorldCat, click the links on the left side of the search results screen to narrow a search.
  • Search for Parkett, an important source for international contemporary artists, whose oeuvre is explored in several essays by leading writers and critics.