Collins Memorial Library: ARTH 276: Studies in Western Art II: Works of Art

Museums and Galleries

Museums and Galleries in the Tacoma/Seattle area

Seattle

Seattle Art Museum - Click on the "art" tab for information about past and current exhibitions as well as the permanent collection.
Note: The Seattle Art Museum, the Seattle Asian Art Museum, and Olympic Sculpture Park are closed for two weeks, January 31–February 15, 2011.
Frye Art Museum focuses on late-nineteenth and early-twentieth-century European paintings
Public Art in Seattle
Art Guide Northwest - museums, galleries, events in Seattle and western Washington
Henry Art Gallery

Tacoma

Tacoma Art Museum - See their exhibition resources page to for information about exhibits held at the museum from 2003 to the present.
Museum of Glass
Washington State History Museum
Kittredge Gallery on campus
Tacoma Pierce County Public Art Tour

Tip: As part of Tacoma’s monthly ArtWalk, Tacoma museums offer extended hours and provide free admission for all visitors from 5 pm to 8 pm.

In Seattle, the free day varies with the museum.

Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond.

Request books held by Summit libraries for delivery to Collins Library within 3-5 days.

Use the Primo to find only materials held at this library.

Search for works of art in these databases. Use quote marks around the title if more than one word. Also include the artist's name.

Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.