Collins Memorial Library: PHYS 493: Special Topics in Theoretical Physics (Laser Science): Articles

Searching the Literature

Review articles are another excellent resource, especially when beginning your research. Try searching for your topic in our database of Annual Reviews, which includes fulltext access to articles from journals including the Annual Review of Materials Research, the Annual Review of Vision Science, and more. Click the image or link below to search

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the fields of Economics, and Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Additional Recommended Databases

arXiv
Open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
PubMed
Bibliographic database that contains references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. Records are indexed with NLM's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Coverage encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

One very useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

Try it using the example article from your assignment:

Cochran, K.H.; Barry, J.A.; Muddiman,D.C.; Hinks, D. Direct Analysis of Textile Fabrics and Dyes Using Infrared Matrix-Assisted Laser Desorption Electrospray Ionization Mass Spectrometry. Anal. Chem. 2013, 85, 831−836

Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.