Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This library research guide is intended for students enrolled in Connections 322, taught by Prof. Sam Kigar. It provides resources and research strategies for the "Knowledge of Islamism" project.
Use the three tabs above to find research tools and tips for each of the three parts of the assignment: newspapers and magazines, policy-oriented papers, and critical academic works.
For your news articles, you may wish to consider mainstream national newspapers, regional newspapers, ethnic or alternative press newspapers, and perhaps, news magazines.
- Mainstream national newspapers have a national readership beyond their geographic scope. Examples include The New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, and Los Angeles Times. These newspapers are the most likely to include original news reporting on international and national events, as well as op-ed pieces.
- Mainstream national magazines with strong news content include Time, Newsweek, U.S. News & World Report, The Atlantic, The New Yorker, Nation (left-leaning), New Republic (left-leaning), National Review (right), and others.
- Significant regional newspapers include the Atlanta Constitution, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), San Jose Mercury News, Baltimore Sun, Denver Post, Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle, etc. News articles on international and national topics tend to be taken from the national newspapers, but op-ed pieces likely consist of both syndicated pieces and local viewpoints.
- While most ethnic and alternative press newspapers have local readerships, there are some that are more national in scope. These include Chicago Defender (African American), Azizah (Islam/women), Sojourners (Christian/social justice), and more. These occasionally publish original reporting, but you may find them useful also for op-ed pieces.
The following full-text newspaper databases will help you discover news articles for your project. As you search for articles relevant and appropriate for this assignment, pay close attention to the sources of the articles. (Search for the newspaper in Wikipedia to learn more about the history and readership of the newspaper.) Also focus on whether the articles are news reporting or op-ed; most databases will indicate the type of article you are looking at.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Huge database of newspapers, both national and international. After running a search, limit your results by using the facets on the left navigation bar.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
and search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega
Includes indexing of major American magazines as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article.
Associate Director for Public Services
, Crime, Law, & Justice Studies
, Interdisciplinary Humanities
, Religion, Spirituality, and Society
, Science, Technology, Health & Society
News & the Political Spectrum
Where does a newspaper or magazine fall on the political spectrum?
There is no completely clear answer to this question because there is no one exact methodology to measure and rate the partisan bias of news sources.
Here are a couple of resources that can help:
All Sides is a news website that presents multiple sources side by side in order to provide the full scope of news reporting.
The Allsides Bias Ratings page allows you to filter a list of news sources by bias (left, center, right).
AllSides uses a patented bias rating system to classify news sources as left, center, or right leaning. Components of the rating system include crowd-sourcing, surveys, internal research, and use of third party sources such as Wikipedia and research conducted by Groseclose and Milyo at UCLA.