Collins Memorial Library: Conn 375: The Art & Science of Color: Science

Encyclopedias: Kirk-Othmer

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology by Raymond E Kirk; Donald F Othmer
Call Number: Click title for Online Access!
ISBN: 0471238961
Publication Date: 2015
Contains the 5th ed. of the Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology. Includes risk management, enterprise resource planning, outsourcing, combinatorial synthesis and technology, functional foods, process automation, electronic chemicals, specialty silicones, mergers and acquisitions, nanoparticles, bioinformatics, ISO 14000, micron-scale chemical analysis, medical applications of biodegradable materials, product development, strategies, drug discovery strategies, chemistry of aging, single-site catalysis, custom manufacturing, and global chemical market analysis. strategies, drug discovery strategies, chemistry of aging, single-site catalysis, custom manufacturing, and global chemical market analysis.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Start your search for background information with these resources. Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines, including the Mcgraw-Hill Dictionary of Science & Technology and the Dictionary of Scientific Biography. Click here or use the searchbox below.

Reference Librarians

Library Reference

Email Me

Subjects: African American Studies, Art & Art History, Music, Theatre Arts

Useful Science Databases

Subject databases cover a specific discipline and provide the widest range of access to scholarly sources. They are used for in-depth research. Below are just a few examples of databases to search for articles about a color from a scientific perspective

Can't find what you need? Contact your liaison librarian, or look fo additional recommended subject databases for each discipline can be found on the "articles" tab in each library subject guide.

Search Terms

Note that you will likely have to search for your individual color, but also by going broad (searching just 'color' and additional relevant and diverse search terms).

Chemistry

ACS Publications
Full text of all American Chemical Society titles! Covers wide range of chemical subdisciplines. Use yellow searchbox in upper right.

Biology

Biological Science Collection
Contains abstracts and citations from journals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

History of Science

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
The HSTM database is the comprehensive bibliography of historians of science. Indexes books and book reviews as well as articles.

General Science

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the fields of Economics, and Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Color eBooks

The Science of Color by Steven K. Shevell (Editor)
Call Number: Click title for online access!
ISBN: 0444512519
Publication Date: 2003
The Science of Color focuses on the principles and observations that are foundations of modern color science. Written for a general scientific audience, the book broadly covers essential topics in the interdisciplinary field of color, drawing from physics, physiology and psychology, and begins by tracing scientific thinking about color since the seventeenth century.
Nature's Palette by David Lee
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 0226470539
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
'Nature's Palette' is an exploration of the science of plant colour. Beginning with potent reminders of how deeply interwoven plant colours are with human life and culture, Lee moves through details of pigments, the evolution of colour perception, the nature of light, and dozens of other topics.
Color Appearance Models by Mark D. Fairchild
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 1119967031
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
A resource for readers needing to understand visual perception and for those trying to produce, reproduce and measure color appearance in various applications such as imaging, entertainment, materials, design, architecture and lighting. Presents the fundamental concepts and phenomena of color appearance (what objects look like in typical viewing situations) and practical techniques to measure, model and predict those appearances. Includes the clear explanation of fundamental concepts that makes the implementation of mathematical models very easy to understand.
The Chemical History of Color by Mary Virginia Orna
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 9783642326424
Publication Date: 2012-10-05
In this brief, Mary Virginia Orna details the history of color from the chemical point of view. Beginning with the first recorded uses of color and ending in the development of our modern chemical industry, this rich, yet concise exposition shows us how color pervades every aspect of our lives. Our consciousness, our perceptions, our useful appliances and tools, our playthings, our entertainment, our health, and our diagnostic apparatus - all involve color and are based in no small part on chemistry.
Colour Chemistry by R. M. Christie
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 0854045732
Publication Date: 2001-04-02
This book provides an up-to-date insight into the chemistry behind the colour of the dyes and pigments that make our world so colourful. The impressive breadth of coverage starts with a dip into the history of colour science. Colour Chemistry then goes on to look at the structure and synthesis of the various dyes and pigments, along with their applications in the traditional areas of textiles, coatings and plastics, and also the ever-expanding range of "high-tech" applications. Also discussed are some of the environmental issues associated with the manufacture and use of colour.

Accessing Ebooks

Our ebooks come from a variety of publishers and thus have a wide range of interfaces. For the most part, you can NOT read them on your kindle, but must read them in your browser. For all of the titles below, once you have clicked the title, you will be taken to a catalog record where you must click the 'view it' tab and then select the option to access the content (usually it will give the name of a publisher or program, such as 'Academic Complete' or 'EBL').

Books and More!

Search Primo, the library's gateway to books, selected articles, video, and more.

Suggested search phrases:

The Importance of Colour Perception to Animals and Man by Birgitta Dresp-Langley (Editor); Keith Langley
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 1608763943
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This text explores the psychophysical studies of colour perception in both animals and humans to help understand these complex processes.
Color Space and Its Divisions by Rolf G. Kuehni
Call Number: Print Books - QP483 .K84 2003
ISBN: 0471326704
Publication Date: 2003-03-31
An authoritative account of the history and modern applications of color order and color difference. It has been postulated that humans can differentiate between millions of gradations in color. Not surprisingly, no completely adequate, detailed catalog of colors has yet been devised, however the quest to understand, record, and depict color is as old as the quest to understand the fundamentals of the physical world and the nature of human consciousness.
New Directions in Colour Studies by Carole P. Biggam (Editor); Carole A. Hough (Editor); Christian J. Kay (Editor); David R. Simmons (Editor)
Call Number: Click title for online access
ISBN: 9027211884
Publication Date: 2011-10-20
A broad perspective on the field, ranging from studies of individual languages through papers on art, architecture and heraldry to psychological examinations of aspects of colour categorization, perception and preference.
Colour Vision by Evan Thompson
Call Number: Print Books QP483 .T48 1995
ISBN: 0415077176
Publication Date: 1994-12-12
This volume provides an accessible review of the current scientific and philosophical discussions of colour vision. Thompson steers a course between the subjective and objective positions on colour, arguing for a relational account. This account develops an ecological approach to colour vision in cognitive science and the philosophy of perception.