Collins Memorial Library: GEOL 306: The Fossil Record: Finding Articles

GeoRef

GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to over 25,000 sources, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. This database provides abstracts and then links out to the full text, so be sure to use the 'Exclude Abstracts Only' filter if you don't want to get results for conference proceedings where there is no article, since the abstract is all that exists!

USGS Publications Warehouse Search
Search for USGS publications. Some content is available online in full text, while other content you'll need to use Primo Search or Interlibrary Loan to track down.

Broad Databases for Biology & Geology

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in the fields of Economics, and Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Biology-specific resources

Biological Science Collection
Contains abstracts and citations from journals, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
BioOne
Contains selected articles published between 1998-2020, and open-access articles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

For current content not available via open access place an interlibrary loan request.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.