The discipline of History typically follows the guidelines of The Chicago Manual of Style; however, you always should check with your professor to confirm the style you should be using.

The full contents of the most recent edition (18th) of The Chicago Manual of Style is available online.  Note that there are two forms of Chicago style--Humanities style (footnotes or endnotes with bibliography) and Author-Date (in-text citations with bibliography).The discipline of history uses the notes and bibliography format of the Chicago style.  Here are a couple of overviews:

Notes and Bibliography System

Supplement for History Papers

Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.

In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.

Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).

Current Edition: 2020

The Center for Writing & Learning (CWL), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process.  Services include:

• Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
• Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
• Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
• Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.