Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers & Magazines (Historical)
New York Times Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new window
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper (1881-1992).
Nation Archive This link opens in a new window
Long regarded as one of the country's definitive journalistic voices of writing on politics, culture, books and the arts The Nation continues to stand as an independent voice in American journalism. This database contains full text for the complete archive of The Nation beginning with its first issue in 1865 through to the present.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles as far back as 1994. Provides access to illustrations, photographs and other graphical content from the original article. Subject coverage is multidisciplinary.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1691-1820 (Series 1) This link opens in a new window
Series 1 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to early English-language colonial imports and to journals of the American Revolution and early republic.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1821-1837 (Series 2) This link opens in a new window
Series 2 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals from
from the Jacksonian period in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1838-1852 (Series 3) This link opens in a new window
Series 3 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals and magazines during a period of western expansion, railroad construction, and sharp regional differences.
AAS Historical Periodicals, 1853-1865 (Series 4) This link opens in a new window
Series 4 of the American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides full text, full image access to journals and magazines of the Civil War era, including antislavery, temperance, and women's suffrage publications.
Digital Primary Source Collections
Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
"Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress."
Western Waters Digital Library
Digital collections of significant primary and secondary resources on water in the western United States.
Newspapers & Magazines (Contemporary)
New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Washington State News This link opens in a new window
Explore and research topics across Washington State. This resource contains news sources from across the state including: the Bellingham Herald, Columbian, Kitsap Sun, News Tribune, The Olympian, Seattle PI, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review, Tri-City Herald, Yakima Herald-Republic and more.