Collins Memorial Library: Scholarly Communication: Resources

More Information

The internet is the source for much more information about scholarly communication and the open access movement. Individual papers and briefs exist which you can find by searching the web. Below are resources from the U.S. that act as web compilations of more information.

Open Access Directory
Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook
SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)
An organization of academic and research libraries that confront the problems present in the current publishing model.

Open Access Resources

The following sites are examples of open access resources available to everyone.

Humanities

Directory of Open Access Journals
Access to the DOAJ will no longer be supported by the Collins Memorial Library after December 31, 2020.

An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Project Gutenberg
Free ebooks that public domain under U.S. copyright.
OpenDOAR
An online directory of open access repositories for many forms of scholarship
Smithsonian Institute
America national educational facility. Contains an assortment of articles and images.
Sound Ideas
University of Puget Sound's institutional repository

Sciences

arCiv
A digital repository of science and technology articles.
BioMed Central
Publisher of open access journals in biomedical fields.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Access to the DOAJ will no longer be supported by the Collins Memorial Library after December 31, 2020.

An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

National Institutes of Health
A federal agency created for supporting scholarly medical research.
National Science Foundation
A federal organization responsible for providing funding for science and engineering research.

Public Library of Science (PLoS)
Publishes a suite of influential journals from all areas of science and medicine that contain rigorously reported, peer reviewed Open Access research articles.

Sound Ideas
University of Puget Sound's institutional repository

Social Sciences

Directory of Open Access Journals
Access to the DOAJ will no longer be supported by the Collins Memorial Library after December 31, 2020.

An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.

National Science Foundation
A federal organization responsible for providing funding for science and engineering research.
OpenDOAR (The Directory of Open Access Repositories)
A directory of academic open access repositories.
Smithsonian Institute
America national educational facility. Contains an assortment of articles and images.

Subject Guide

Peggy Burge

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Collins Library 119

253.879.3512

Subjects: Bioethics, Connections, Crime, Law, & Justice Studies, History, Honors, Interdisciplinary Humanities, Religion, Spirituality, and Society, Science, Technology, Health, & Society