Collins Memorial Library: STHS 201: Alchemy, Astronomy, and Medicine Before 1700: Find Articles

Additional Resources for Researching Science, Technology, and Society

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.
ProQuest Central
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
PubMed
This premier scholarly biomedical database can also be a good source for the history of medicine. Look to the right of the simple search box and click the 'Advanced Search' link. Scroll down to "Limit by topics, languages, and journal groups". Look for the box "Subsets", and check the box for "History of Medicine." Then do your search!

Key Database: History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
IsisCB
IsisCB is an open access discovery service for the history of science, built on 40-years of data in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of history of science, technology and medicine, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Journal search to link to the materials in these e-journal collections. However, if your topic is very interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary, searching these collections can be quite useful for identifying particular disciplines that focus on your topic.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.

Searching Strategies!

Use these tips and tricks to get the most focused yet comprehensive results on your topic:

Add concepts to your search to get more specific: use AND to narrow down your search (like Robert Hooke AND microscope)

_________________________

Remember to search multiple keywords (like Robert Hooke AND (microscope OR instrument OR microscopy) to get more results on your topic.

_________________________

Use subject headings to target your search and find articles that are most relevant to you. Make sure to harvest more search terms from the results that you find!

_________________________

Use truncation symbols to search for multiple forms of a word. Just add an asterisk (*) where you want the truncation to start. For example, search for microsope, microscopic, microscopy, etc., by entering microscop*in the search box.

_________________________

Keep track of your strategies, so you don't forget how to find great resources!