Collins Memorial Library: BUS 482: Strategic Management and Consulting: Company Info

SIC and NAICS Codes

SIC/NAICS Directories are numerical classification systems to help identify and organize like companies within the same industry.

NAICS Search The North American Industry Classification system (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting and analyzing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

NAICS was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system to allow for a high level of comparability in busines statistics among the North American countries.

"Concordances" -- A detailed conversion (concordance) between the SIC and 2002 NAICS is available in Excel format. There are no plans to develop a concordance between the SIC and 2007 NAICS.

SIC Manual SIC codes and their descriptions at the Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) website

Websters Online A quick way to look up SIC codes and corresponding NAICS codes (use the left column).

Business Directories

Washington business directory by American Directory Pub. Co.
Call Number: REFERENCE HF5065.W2 W23 2013 v. 1 & 2
Directory of businesses in the State of Washington.
Encyclopedia of business information sources by Paul Wasserman
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
This is a comprehensive listing of business related finding aids including abstracting and indexing services, almanacs and yearbooks, bibliographies, biographical sources, directories, encyclopedias and dictionaries, financial ratios, handbooks and manuals, online databases, periodicals and newsletters, price sources, research centers and institutes, statistical sources trade associations and professional societies, and other related sources of information on each topic.

Market and Industry Research

Business Market Research Collection
Conduct company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments; Snapshots - market research overviews on industries and countries.

BUS 482: Strategic Management and Consulting

SIC and NAICS Codes

Business Directories

Company Information

Market and Industry Research