Collins Memorial Library: ENVP 326: People, Politics, and Parks: Databases

Why Search Databases Separately?

Databases can be multidisciplinary or subject specific. Choose the best databases for the scope of your literature review. Databases index various journals, so in order to be comprehensive, it is important to search multiple databases when conducting a systematic review.

Zotero

Consider setting up a group Zotero account. Zotero can help you:

Keep track of your sources
Easily deduplicate records (very useful when you are searching multiple databases and there may be some overlap)
Store and annotate PDFs of articles
Generate bibliographies in many different citation styles

Recommended Databases

Agricola
Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. National Agricultural Library. Subjects include animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, and earth and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM).
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Environmental Studies and Policy: OneFile
Investigate environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
GreenFILE
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
PAIS Index
Indexes resources on public affairs and policy, with an international scope.
ScienceDirect Journals & Books
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research on ScienceDirect. Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, books, book chapters and open access content.
Sociology Database
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.