Collins Memorial Library: ENGL 372: Global English: Scholarly Articles

Final assignment resources

On this page, you'll find resources to help you find educational, economic, and business information for your final project.

Recommended Subject Databases

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.
Diversity Studies: OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Subject areas covered include the culinary arts, demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes material in the areas of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.

Class Exercise

Speaking Anxiety and Strategy Use for Learning English as a Foreign Language in Full and Partial English-Medium Instruction Contexts

Practice evaluating and choosing sources by looking at the following article. Skim the introduction (the paragraphs before "Implementation of EMI in East Asia"). Then think about the following questions and discuss with a partner:

1. What's the thesis or main idea of the article? Try to identify one sentence that sums up the main argument.
2. How could this be used for my paper? What information would it provide or how would it fit into my argument?
3. Do you see any downsides to this paper in terms of how it connects to the assigned topic? Are there any limitations to the study itself?

Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary finding aids.

Note: If you need discipline-specific resources, it is better to use the recommended subject databases under the "articles" tab in the library subject guides.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An multidisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches open access materials as well as items from many publishers, including some of the resources to which Collins Library subscribes. However, Google Scholar only searches a fraction of the published scholarly literature. Use the databases listed on this page as well as others found on the database A-Z list.

Tips:

Use advanced searching to search phrases, authors, publications, and dates.
Google Scholar includes many citations that link directly to publishers' web sites of which most will charge a fee for access. However, Collins Library may subscribe to these publications. Search the journal title in Primo.
Google Scholar provides forward citation searching, automatically extracting and displaying works cited as separate results.

General Database Search Tips

Try these strategies to become a better, more efficient searcher -- and help you find articles that you can actually use:

Build your search vocabulary -- keep a running list of key words, phrases, concepts, synonyms, and any related terms or ideas that you find.
Use advanced search features -- narrow your search with "AND," expand your search with "OR," or search in specified fields (i.e., author, title, publication, abstract).
Use search limits -- control the types of results you get (academic journals? language?) and how they are displayed (date? relevance?) so that you're only looking at results you can use.
Try multiple searches and evaluate your results -- try to figure out why you got the results you did, and adjust your search until you get closer to results you can use.
Use database descriptors -- once you find an article that looks good, see what descriptors or "subject headings" were assigned to it in the database. You can use these to search only for articles that have the same descriptors attached.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option for getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.

Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form:

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.

Practice: Comparing and Evaluating Search Tools

Choose a broad topic (no more than 2-3 concepts) and conduct a preliminary investigation into the topic using 3 different search tools: a multidisciplinary database, a subject database, and Google Scholar.

Keep track of your results and respond to the following questions:

Search terms used
How many results did you get?
What are the subject terms for the various scholarly articles and books in your results?
Scan the first two pages of search results. List some aspects of your topic being discussed.
If you wanted to try to find additional relevant results, what other search terms might you try to use?
How can you get to the full text of articles?
How can you save an article for later or send it to yourself?
Are there any tools to help you cite articles?
Anything else interesting (or frustrating?) about the database?

Comparing and Evaluating Search Tools (Google Doc)
Make a copy and save to your Puget Sound Google Drive to edit.