Collins Memorial Library: CCS 168: The Price is Wrong: Managing the Commons and Other Market Distortions: Articles

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Search IGO Websites

Searches across the websites of major IGO's including the UN, UNICEF, FAO, WFP, IMF, WTO, WHO, and the World Bank, to help you find information from these websites including news, reports, working papers, statistics & data, and more.

Economics News Sources

The Economist
Authoritative analysis and opinion about politics, technology, business, finance, and their intersections.

Access World News
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review.
US Newsstream
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.

Recommended Databases

EconLit with Full Text
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Economics and Theory: OneFile
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes ABI/INFORM Global, Trade and Industry, Dateline, and Archive. Includes key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.

EconPapers
EconPapers provides access to RePEc, the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software.

Additional Databases

Business: OneFile
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.
Business Insights
In-depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, market research reports, company rankings, histories, and full-text periodical articles. Includes in-depth analysis of global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Premier
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.
JSTOR
An multidisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

Economic Theses

Select undergraduate theses from the University of Puget Sound Department of Economics are available through the Library's institutional repository, Sound Ideas.