A good starting point for academic work is one or more of the many databases available through the library's website. Databases provide access and content to sources that are generally not available on the open web through a general search engine like Google.
Every database contains only certain types and amounts of information. There is no single database or web search interface that will work for every research context; instead, you'll need to match your specific research needs to a variety of options.
Library catalog searches (i.e., Primo) can be the better choice when you are seeking in-depth, book-length treatments of a topic. Because so much material is cataloged in Primo, you will need to use limiters and Library of Congress Subject Headings to focus your search.
Multidisciplinary databases cover a wide variety of subject areas and may include a mix of popular and scholarly sources. They can be good resources when your research requires multiple disciplinary perspectives or a variety of source types. JSTOR is an example of a multidisciplinary database.
Subject databases cover a specific discipline and provide the widest range of access to scholarly sources. They are used for in-depth research. They are also especially useful when you know you need to find scholarly work written within a specific disciplinary framework. The MLA International Bibliography is an example of a subject database. Which subject databases you search will be determined by who may be writing about your topic.
Use part E and F of your worksheet to guide you through some background reading about your topic. Start with a tertiary source for basic background information, or trace scholarship in your area of interest by doing some database searching.
Not sure where to start? Ask your liaison librarian or your instructor.
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.
Below is a list of multidisciplinary databases covering a wide range of topics. Here you'll find a mix of popular and scholarly sources. You can also search them for academic book reviews.
An multidisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
