PubMed is available to anyone, but not all articles found through PubMed are openly accessible. By using this link, you will be shown a small blue and white 'Check for full text' button on article results pages which will connect you back to the University of Puget Sound to check for full-text access through Collins Library! Keep an eye out for that 'check for full text' button.
SPORTDiscus is a comprehensive database of journal articles related to sports, fitness, and related disciplines. Many full-text articles available, and more can be found using the 'Check for full text' link. There are many non-peer reviewed sources included in this database, so you may wish to limit your search to only academic journals.
Looking for review articles specifically? Check out these options:
There are three methods for obtaining the actual articles you wish to read:
Method 1: In some databases, you will be able to link directly to the full-text article. Look around, as different databases have different interfaces. Look for a link or buttons that says "Check for Full Text" or "Download PDF" or similar. If given the choice between a PDF or HTML version of the article, always choose the PDF format. This will give you an exact image, including page numbers, of the article as it appears in the paper journal.
Method 2: If a direct link to full text is not available, then check Primo Search or use the Primo Journal Search Box below to see if the library subscribes to the journal. Search for the title of the journal that the article was published in.
You may find that there is online access available for this journal. Check the dates that are available...most of the time the link will say "Fulltext access available from 19xx." Check to see whether the article that you're looking for was published during the date range that is available. If so, then click the 'View fulltext' link and either browse through past issues, or look for a "search within this publication" link until you find the article that you need. You may find that Primo says the journal is available at Collins Memorial Library Print Journals, which means we have the journal physically in the library. If the article you are looking for is only available in print in the library rather than online, in which case you you will need to go downstairs to the basement to find the bound volumes of periodicals. If the periodical is available only in microform, you may submit a request for electronic delivery of the article via your Interlibrary Loan account.
Method 3: If your searching indicates that the article is not available in any format, then request the article through ILL, our interlibrary loan service. ( Most databases include links to request an item from ILL within each record.) It usually takes 2-3 business days to receive an electronic copy of the article.
And at any time if you have questions, send Eli an email!
Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.
Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.