Help us build our collection! If you have a zine collection that you've accumulated over the years or even a few issues of a zine you wrote, we'd love to add them to our holdings. We collect all kinds of zines, but are especially interested in zines that come from our region, address local and national issues, social justice topics, and/or are authored by disenfranchised or underrepresented individuals or groups.
Although we gladly accept donations, Collins Library cannot guarantee that all donated items will be added to the collection. The decision to add or remove items is made by library staff and the evaluation of donations is held to the same standards for inclusion as purchased items. This evaluation relies on staff's professional expertise, their understanding of the collection, and close collaboration with other university departments to asses the needs of our community.
If an item does not fit the parameters of our collection, the library retains the right to handle the zine in the manner that best fits its needs. We are happy to arrange the return of any unused donated zines to the donor or transfer the zine to alternate location, such as another zine library, public library, or private collection.
If you are interested in donating to the Archives & Special Collections, please contact us at email@example.com.
Selections from the Collins Library Zine Collection. Photo Credit: Katy Curtis
The Collins Library Zine Collection is a unique addition to our collections that came to Puget Sound in July 2016 after an initial donation from the Zine Pavilion at the American Library Association Annual Conference. This collection continues to grow through selected purchases and the donations of individual zine collections. Currently, the Zine Collection contains approximately 500 zines on a variety of topics, both personal and political, which are housed in Archives & Special Collections on the 2nd Floor of Collins Library.
The zines in our collection vary widely in style and content and cover a wide breadth of topics, including zines on local and national issues, politics, personal narratives, activism and social justice, environmental justice, queer identities, feminism, race, and more, including several authored by Puget Sound students. The goal of this collection is to reflect the breadth and depth of the medium and support undergraduate research activities at the University of Puget Sound.
We hope you will enjoy our zine collection!
Research questions about zines and requests for library sessions can be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org or your liaison librarian.
The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.
Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email email@example.com.
Stop by during Drop-In Hours: We also have drop-in hours Monday through Thursday from 12:00 to 3:00 PM. Appointments are not required during drop-in hours.
We look forward to assisting you!
In addition to open hours, the Archives & Special Collections are available by appointment. A few things to be aware of when visiting the Archives & Special Collections: