Collins Memorial Library: Politics & Government: Primary Sources

Primary Sources: Subject Collections

Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2006
Presents primary source documents, such as speeches, legislation, memoirs, newspaper articles, and interviews, related to government, politics, and protest between the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries.
Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2006
Presents primary source documents, such as speeches, legislation, memoirs, newspaper articles, and interviews, related to immigration and multiculturalism between the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries.
Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2006
Presents primary source documents, such as speeches, legislation, memoirs, newspaper articles, and interviews, related to social policy between the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries.
Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources by K. Lee Lerner (Editor)
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2005
Presents primary source documents, such as speeches, legislation, memoirs, newspaper articles, and interviews, related to terrorism between the nineteenth and twenty-first centuries.

Primary Sources: Documents

Historic Documents by CQ Press
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Issued since 1972, each annual volume contains approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. The documents include presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Documents are preceded by introductory material to provide historical and intellectual context. Documents may be searched by full-text keyword, title, and topic, and a cumulative index is provided.

Primary Sources in Politics & Government

A primary source in Politics & Government will depend on the context of your assignment.

Examples of primary sources include:

news & editorials
statistics & data
polling results
government documents
films and television programs
radio broadcasts
speeches
debates

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online.

We look forward to assisting you!

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Politics & Government

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Homer T. Bone papers, 1903-1944, document Bone's political career, including his time in the U.S. Senate (1932-1944) as well as his role in the development of public electrical power in the Pacific Northwest, and regional politics.

The John Coffee papers, 1940-1952, contain Coffee's correspondence, speeches, photographs, campaign literature, press releases and scrapbooks. Coffee was a Tacoma resident and member of the U.S. House of Representatives for Washington State, 1937-1946.

Ellis, Elsi Vassdal, Al-Mutanabbi I, 2011.