Collins Memorial Library: Greek, Latin, &amp; Ancient Mediterranean Studies: Articles

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Recommended Subject Database for Greek, Latin, and Ancient Mediterranean Studies

L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.

Begin your search for scholarly articles and essays with this subject database. A subject index guides you through the most comprehensive selection of scholarly materials.

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism
Includes overviews by topic, author, and work, as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.

Abbreviations

GLAM uses a series of abbreviations for works as well as journal titles.

Wiley's List of Abbreviations of Classical Works (.pdf)

The Oxford Classical Dictionary Online List of Abbreviations (use for Author names and their works)

L’Année philologique's List of Journal Abbreviations

Featured Journals

Search Primo

Additional Subject Databases

These subject databases may also prove useful for GLAM.

Gnomon Online
A database for ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology, this is an international bibliographical index to monographs, journal articles, conference papers, essays in collections, and dissertations in many languages. It can be searched from 1990-present by subject, author, keyword, and/or publication.

Anthropology Plus
Indexes material in the areas of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Philosophers Index
Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940 including journals from many countries with content representing a variety of languages.

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of GLAM Studies, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.

Finding Full Text Articles

If you have a citation to an article and want to find the full text,use Primo's advanced search. Change the "any field" to title. Type the journal title and the material type to journals.

Journal example:

Tan, Chang. 2012. "Art for/of the Masses." Third Text 26, no. 2: 177-194.

Where's The Fulltext?

There are three methods for obtaining the actual articles you wish to read:

Method 1: In some databases, you will be able to link directly to the fulltext article. Look around, as different databases have different interfaces. Look for a link or buttons that says "Check for Full Text" or Download PDF or similar. If given the choice between a PDF or HTML version of the article, always choose the PDF format. This will give you an exact image, including page numbers, of the article as it appears in the paper journal.

Method 2: If a direct link to full text is not available, then look for a link that checks for fulltext in Primo Search to see if the library subscribes to the journal.

Method 3: Use Interlibrary Loan. See box below.