Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Greek, Latin, & Ancient Mediterranean Studies

Primary Texts in Greek

 

You will need some proficiency in ancient Greek to use this resource.

The TLG is a full- text database of virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included.  For assistance with using this database, consult the extensive TLG help files. If you're having trouble navigating this resource, consult with your professor.

Primary Texts in Latin

A Note on Translations

Always use the translation your professor recommends!

English translations of classical texts can differ markedly.  Most translations that are freely available on the web are in the public domain (out of copyright), which means that they are much older and reflect neithor more recent translation practices nor updated research on language and text variants.

Deciphering Citations

Classics uses a specialized, precise method of citation. The proper format for citing classical texts:

[Author], [Title] [Book/Section.(Poem, if applicable)].[Line #s cited/Paragraph #s cited]

Example of a citation in footnotes:

  • Curt. 6.5.25-32 --> Q. Curtius Rufus, Historiae Alexandri Magni Book 6 Section 5 lines 25-32.]
  • Diod. 17.77.1-3 --. Diodorus Siculus, The Library of History Book 17 Section 77 paragraphs 1-3

Abbreviations

Classics uses a series of abbreviations for works as well as journal titles.

Wiley's List of Abbreviations of Classical Works (.pdf)

The Oxford Classical Dictionary Online List of Abbreviations (use for Author names and their works)

L’Année philologique's List of Journal Abbreviations

Primary Texts in Collins Library

Print copies of classical texts can be located via the library catalog.

Scholarly Editions of Greek and Latin Texts


Whenever possible, you should use scholarly editions of classical texts.  A scholarly edition of a text typically will present and discuss variant versions; provide historical, cultural and linguistic context; and delineate the history of scholarly approaches to that text.  Most scholarly editions will have an editor (or editors) and will be published by a university press (see catalog example below).

catalog image

Bi-lingual Editions

Collins Library owns many of the bi-lingual editions published by Harvard University Press as part of the Loeb Classical Library.  Latin-English editions have red covers and Greek-English editions have green covers.  Generally, the Loeb series provides reliable translations of Greek and Latin texts.

Translations

English translations of classical texts can differ markedly.  Always use the translation your professor recommends.

Perseus Digital Library

The Perseus Digital Library provides an extensive collection of texts (in Greek, Latin, and also English translation) and images of art and archaeological artifacts.  Note that the texts are older editions and translations that are out of copyright (so that they can be shared freely online), but they do not reflect subsequent textual scholarship and translation practices.

For best results, use the Perseus Hopper advanced search.

It also possible to browse the subcollections:

  • Author Browse (see what's available by Greek and Roman writers)

ARTstor & Classics

ARTstor is a digital library of over a million images.  For search tips specific to Classical Studies, see the ARTstor Classical Studies sheet.

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Classics

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Douglas R. "Doug" Edwards papers, 1920-2007, document two archaeological excavations and surveys in which Professor Douglas Edwards of the University of Puget Sound served as director or consultant.  Most of the material is related the Khirbet Qana (also known as Khirbet Kana or Cana) archaeological project in Israel, on the site of a historical village of Roman Galilee, eight miles northwest of Nazareth, on the north side of an important trade route, the Bet Netofa Valley.  Other material is from the Chersonesos archaeological project (Black Sea Project), on a site in present-day Sebastopol, Ukraine.  A small number of artifacts are included in the collection.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu

Stop by during Drop-In Hours: We also have drop-in hours Monday through Thursday from 12:00 to 3:00 PM. Appointments are not required during drop-in hours.

We look forward to assisting you!