Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information.  Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

  • a novel
  • a painting
  • a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

  • a political, social, or economic theory
  • a dataset
  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online

We look forward to assisting you!

Primary Sources in Economics

  • Census Bureau
    Latest census bureau data on towns, cities, counties, and states. Includes population, education, income, race, ancestry, housing, and labor. The Census Bureau's datasets can be accessed via their Explore Data site.
  • World Development Indicators
    Data and statistics from the World Bank, covering social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental development indicators.

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Economics

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Homer T. Bone papers, 1903-1944, document Bone's political career, including his time in the U.S. Senate (1932-1944) as well as his role in the development of public electrical power in the Pacific Northwest, and regional politics.

The Frank Williston papers, 1924-1966, was a professor at the University of Puget Sound prior to WWII, a specialist in Far Eastern affairs, his papers contain material on the political, historical and economic conditions in China, Japan, Manchuria, Malaya, Burma, Korea, Indonesia, Vietnam and Southeast Asia.