Collins Memorial Library: CONN 377: Caesar in Vietnam: PTSD in the Ancient World?: Subject Database Recommendations

Four Research Tips for Connections Courses

Search subject databases from multiple disciplines.
Let relevance, rather than format, guide your choices about which sources to use.
Understand the value of primary, secondary, and tertiary sources.
Be prepared for a recursive, iterative research process.
Talk about your research process--with your peers, your professor, a librarian.

PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
PTSDpubs
Provides access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.

National Child Traumatic Stress Network
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) was created by Congress in 2000 as part of the Children’s Health Act to raise the standard of care and increase access to services for children and families who experience or witness traumatic events. This unique network of frontline providers, family members, researchers, and national partners is committed to changing the course of children’s lives by improving their care and moving scientific gains quickly into practice across the U.S. The NCTSN is administered by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) and coordinated by the UCLA-Duke University National Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NCCTS).
PTSD Research Quarterly
An electronic newsletter produced by the Veterans Administration

Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content.
Military Database
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering and more.

L'Annee philologique This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.

Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.