Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:

• Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
• Back up claims and statements.
• Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
• Support academic integrity.

Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles.  Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools:  RefWorks and Zotero.

Commonly used styles are Chicago, MLA, or APA. Always check with your professor about which citation guide you should use for your research papers and be consistent.

• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association

  Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 Reference

  ISBN: 9781433832161

  Publication Date: 2020

  The newest edition of the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences.

• Chicago Manual of Style Online

  Call Number: Electronic Resource

  The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.

• MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America

  Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021 Reference

  ISBN: 9781603293532

  Publication Date: 2021

  The newest edition of the MLA's reference guide offers guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. Includes advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations.

• A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; revised by Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, Joseph Bizup, William T. FitzGerald, and the University of Chicago Press editorial staff

  Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2018 Reference

  ISBN: 9780226494425

  Publication Date: 2018

  This new edition of the classic reference work on writing research papers recognizes recent developments in information literacy and the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission while continuing to reflect best practices for research and writing.

Collins Library has brief overviews with examples available for commonly used citation styles.

APA Style Guide

Chicago: Humanities Style (Notes-Bibliography System)

Chicago: Author-Date System

MLA Style Guide

There are several additional reliable and thorough guides to citation styles available online:

• Excelsior Online Writing Lab

  Excellent resource for college writing, including citation and documentation in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

  Excellent site especially for help with the APA, Chicago, and MLA citation styles.

• Harvard Guide to Using Sources

  Provides excellent advice not just on the mechanics of citation, but also on how to work with sources.

Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.

In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.

Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).

Current Edition: 2020

The Center for Writing & Learning (CWL), located in Howarth 105, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process.  Services include:

• Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
• Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
• Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
• Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.