Making Sense of Japanese Grammar explains in a lively and highly informative manner basic principles that underlie a wide range of phenomena in Japanese. Students--irrespective of proficiency level and linguistic training--will find clarification on matters of grammar that often seem idiosyncratic and Japanese-specific, such as avoiding the use of certain pronouns, employing the same word order for questions, hidden subjects, polite and direct forms. Organized for easy access and readability, Making Sense of Japanese Grammar consists of short units, each focused on explaining a distinct problem and illustrated with a wealth of examples. To further enhance their usefulness, the units are cross-referenced and contain brief comprehension exercises to test and apply newly acquired knowledge. A glossary and keys to the exercises are at the back of the book. This volume may be used as a supplementary classroom reading or a helpful reference for students of all levels. Both students and instructors, even those trained in linguistics, will find its accessible explanations of grammatical concepts helpful. Grounded in sound scholarship and extensive teaching experience, Making Sense of Japanese Grammar brings a fresh and liberating perspective to the study of Japanese.
This book aims to teach Japanese characters step by step, whilst also simultaneously highlighting vocabulary needed by beginners. Each word comes with an illustration to facilitate the reader’s visual learning. The book also contains information on how to write a sentence by using the characters and vocabulary presented to the reader and contains exercises that teachers can use as homework.
The acknowledged authority on Japanese Kanji, The Kanji Dictionary makes written Japanese more accessible than ever before and is an absolutely vital tool for anyone seeking to learn Japanese at an intermediate or advanced level. This is the only kanji dictionary of its kind to employ a revolutionary multiple-reference compound system. Every kanji compound, a word or phrase made up of two or more characters, is listed under each of its components characters. This unique, time-saving feature makes finding compounds fast and easy. Entries are arranged according to a radical based reference system, similar to that used in most other dictionaries, but it has been simplified to make it easier to learn and use. Also, the comprehensive on/kun readings index and handy radical "overview lists" provide further means to find an entry. The focus of this reference work is kanji compounds, and the more than 47,000 entries in the main text include the most common and most important terms and expressions currently in use. The addition of newly coined terms, particularly those in new technical fields, is another key feature. Features over 47,000 entries with an emphasis on current expressions. Arranged for search from any kanji in a compound. Contains a complete on/kun (Chinese/Japanese) reading index. Includes an easy-to-use radical guide. Provides appendices of counters, historical periods, common Japanese surnames, etc.
Master Japanese with this durable bilingual reference. Focuses on the most essential words. Includes illustrations, cultural notes, & practical examples for easy learning. Published with Kenkyusha Ltd.