Collins Memorial Library: Music 222: Music of the World's Peoples: Recordings

Free Music for Podcasts

Look for music licensed under Creative Commons. Here are some examples:

Free Music Archive: Music available under a number of different licenses. Check the Artist/Album pages for license information.

Free Stock Music: Royalty-free licensed music

Overview of Creative Commons licenses

Articles:

Creative Commons Podcasting Legal Guide: "The Good News: Five Instances Where Permission is Not Required"

Creative Commons Podcasting Legal Guide: "Fair Use Under Copyright Law and Its Application to Podcasts"

"Using copyrighted Music and Media in Your Podcast"

"Trying to Understand Fair Use and Using Music in Podcasts"

Audacity's "Copyright Laws for Bloggers and Podcasters"

Streaming Audio

Note: The music available via these streaming audio services cannot be used in your podcast. They are for listening/study purposes only. No download is permitted and you are not permitted to publish, broadcast, communicate, or redistribute materials from the services.

Naxos Music Library
A collection of classical music available streaming online. Included is traditional music of many countries throughout the world including from Africa, Asia, North and South America. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.

Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when leaving Naxos.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window
A collection of jazz available streaming online. Select works by label, artist, composer or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.

Access limited to 2 simultaneous users. Please logout when leaving Naxos.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Includes essays, images, and hundreds of audio examples.
Naxos Music Library World
A collection of world music available streaming online. Select works by label, artist, composer or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.

Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Please logout when leaving Naxos.

Music CDs

The library has a cd music collection located on the second floor between the two halves of the library, across from Special Collections & University Archives.

Do a keyword search on your topic in Primo Search. You can search by performer, genre, or country.
Refine your results by 'Resource Type' (on the right sidebar).
Choose audio. If you don't see it on the list, click on 'Audio CDs.'