Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English

Searching for Literary Works by Author/Title

Searching Collins Library Primo Search for a novel or play, or for all the works by a specific author, is pretty straightforward:

 

Searching Collins Library Primo Search for a specific poem or short story by a particular author is a bit trickier:

  • For poetry and short story collections published after about 1990, the tables of contents may be included in the cataloging record. You certainly can try to search by the title of the poem or short story, but if you don't find it that way, don't give up--try the steps below!
  • Try to find out the title of the collection in which the poem or short story was published and then search by that title. There are several strategies for finding such titles:
    • Search the lists of publications by author in Literature Resource Center.
    • If the short story or poem is no longer under copyright, try searching Google Books or Project Gutenberg for the full text.
    • If the poem or short story was not published in a book-length collection or anthology, it probably was published in a literary magazine or other magazine that publishes fiction and poetry. To get the original source of the publication, you will need to consult an index.  Collins Library has old volumes of the Short Story Index (through 2004) as well as several poetry indexes in the print reference section.

Search for Anthologies and Collections of Literary Works

Student Literary Magazines

Sound Ideas, the digital repository for the University of Puget Sound, has digitized recent issues of several student publications:

Literary Magazines - Databases

These databases contain the full text of several literary magazines.

Featured Resource: EEBO

ARTstor

Visual materials, including images, are examples of primary sources. There are many image collections in ARTstor that are pertinent to English Studies, including the Languages and Literature featured group which "highlights ARTstor content related to languages and literature, including images of renowned authors and depictions of literary characters, as well as examples of foreign languages from a variety of cultures around the world."

Learn more about ARTstor collections relevant to Language and Literature.

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, English

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

Original medieval manuscript leaves and a few facsimiles.

Watts, Isaac, Logic; or, The right use of reason in the inquiry after truth, 1825.

Cobb, Lyman, Cobb's spelling book: being a just standard for pronouncing the English language, 1812.

Bills of Sale for the Purchase of Slaves, 1835, 1837, 1845.

 

In addition, a small portion of photographshistorical documents, and digitized material are available online. You can also browse archival and manuscript collections as well as rare books in Primo (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections).

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu or book online

We look forward to assisting you!