Search Collins+Summit+Articles
Research typically begins with a topic that has piqued your curiosity. When you're researching a topic, you typically are interested in questions of who, what, where and when.
As you learn more about your chosen topic, however, you'll discover that scholars may have different approaches and arguments about the topic, and you'll start to ask your own research questions. Research questions typically begin with why or how:
When you've selected a research question to explore and are ready to make an argument as to how to answer it, you'll come up with a thesis.
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication studies discipline.
Don't forget to prepare a list of related terms and concepts BEFORE you begin searching! This will save you time and give you a sense of direction as you search.
Number 1 Search Tip
Use Advanced Search and limit features whenever possible. Subset limits, date limits, citation searches, subject searches, etc. -- are all useful timesavers.
More Search Tips:
Too MUCH Information?
Too LITTLE Information?
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Communications Studies, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use the Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Includes the Artstor image collections.
