Collins Memorial Library: AFAM 401: Narratives of Race: Japanese Internment

Intro

This page supports a learning activity about the Japanese American experience at Puget Sound. It is a small sampling of materials used in class.

Japanese Students Club, 1941 Tamanawas

Selected Trail Articles

Please note the articles below are available online. There are many more available in print only.

"The Trail, 1941-12-16" (1941). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington.
Page 1: First Lady Outlines Civil Defense Aid, Mrs. Roosevelt Sees Students, Discuss Japanese-American Problem
"The Trail, 1942-05-22" (1942). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington
Page 2: Independents elect Jerry Spellman new president
"The Trail, 1942-11-20" (1942). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington.
Page 1: SCA sponsors toy drive collection for kids
"The Trail, 1983-02-11 " (1983). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington.
Page 1: UPS to mark unhappy anniversary
"The Trail, 1990-10-11 " (1990). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington.
Page 6: A humble remembrance; Recollections 1941-1942
"The Trail, 2004-02-20 " (2004). Associated Students of UPS (ASUPS/ASB), RG 06. University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections. Tacoma, Washington.
Page 8: Freedom wrought from Japanese imprisonment

Books

For more books on the subject, search Primo using the phrase Japanese Americans Evacuation and relocation , 1942 1945.

Japanese-American Internment and the College of Puget Sound by Alma Balahadia
Call Number: University Theses (LD4651.P84 1992 .B3 )
Publication Date: 1992
Asian Studies senior research paper, History 369, University of Puget Sound.

Archives Exercise Directions

As you review the documents within your group, you will create a narrative. To help guide your thinking, consider these questions.

For written text:

What does the source tell you?
What is its purpose? Why do you think the document was written? Who is the audience?
What can the author's choice of words tell you? What about the silences--what does the author choose NOT to talk about?
What surprised you? What did you see that you didn't expect?
What questions remain unanswered by this source?

For images:

What do you notice first?
What details emerge as you study the image?
Why was the image taken?
Who do you think made this image? Who is the audience?
What questions does this image raise?

Camp Harmony Newsletter

Camp Harmony Newsletter
"The Camp Harmony News-Letter was first issued on May 5, 1942, just days after the opening of the Puyallup Assembly Center and ended with a souvenir edition on August 14, 1942. The newsletter originally began as the community paper of Area A but expanded with issue 4 to cover the entire camp.

The newsletter covered WRA and WCCA announcements, camp recreational and sporting events, births and other community news. Issues ranged from two to five pages long."

Densho

Densho
"Densho’s mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy, and promote equal justice for all."

Tacoma Japantown Walking Tour

Take a walking tour of the historic Nihonmachi (Japantown) of Tacoma, WA. Included in the application is a map showing points of interest, historic and modern photos of each location, as well as links to essays and notes about this historic area that have been compiled by historian Michael Sullivan and writer Tamiko Nimura.

Download the free app from iTunes.