Collins Memorial Library: Honors 401: Historical Periodicals: Research on Historical Context

Recommended Databases

The choice of research databases depends on your approach, but the following three databases are good bets for the start of your research.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.

If you have chosen a magazine with articles to science, technology, or medicine, you also should search HSTM:

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: E169.1 .E626 2001, v. 1-3, Print reference (first floor)
ISBN: 9780684805009
Publication Date: 2000
Covers all aspects of 19th-century history including: population, politics and government, economy and work, society and culture, religion, social problems and reform, everyday life and foreign policy.

African American Studies Center (Oxford)
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.

Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Gale eBooks
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
SAGE Knowledge
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
ABC CLIO eBooks This link opens in a new window
This eBook Collection contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.