Collins Memorial Library: Physics 351: Electromagnetic Theory: Electromagnetic Applications Project

Finding Physics Articles

You may wish to search in databases to find articles (whether scholarly articles or more popular, accessible articles from magazines or newspapers) on your topic.

Physics Today
This publication, from the American Institute of Physics, provides 'general interest' articles on physics topics. You can search using the magnifying glass icon in the upper righthand corner, and you can limit your results by date to get results only within the last 5 years.

ProQuest Central
This database includes both scholarly and non-scholarly content (such as newspapers and magazines). You can use the filters on the left hand side of the results page to filter your search by type of source.

Scientific American
This scientific journalism magazine is aimed at the general public. Use the 'search within this publication' link to search for your topic within this particular magazine.

Relevant Encyclopedias & Handbooks

You may want to start your search for background information by looking up your general topic (such as 'superconductivity' or 'batteries') in one of the reference sources listed below.

Gale eBooks
This collection of online encyclopedias includes several useful science and technology focused sources.

Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology by Raymond E Kirk; Donald F Othmer
Call Number: Click title for Online Access!
ISBN: 0471238961
Publication Date: 2015
Although this is the encyclopedia of "chemical" technology, it has relevant information for physics research, as well! Use the search box in the upper right to look for your topic.

You can search the Collins Library Catalog to find books and ebooks on your topic; below are a few examples of books that you might find!

Electromagnetic Fields principles, engineering applications, and biophysical effects by Myung-Hee Kwang (Editor); Sang-Ook Yoon
Call Number: Click for online access!
ISBN: 1624170641
Publication Date: 2013
In this book, the authors gather and present current research in the study of the principles, engineering applications and biophysical effects of electromagnetic fields.
Handbook of Accelerator Physics and Engineering by Alexander Wu Chao
Call Number: Click title for online access!
ISBN: 9814415847
Publication Date: 2013
Containing more than 100 new articles on the design and operation of modern particle accelerators. The eight chapters include both theoretical and practical matters as well as an extensive glossary of accelerator types.