Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary databases. These can be especially good discovery tools when you aren't which academic disciplines are writing about your topic. Use one (or more) of these multidisciplinary databases for your group project!
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Subject databases are an integral part of the academic research process. They focus on the scholarly output in a specific academic discipline or topic area.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to American Anthropological Association publications.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Database Search Tips
Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:
||What It Does
||Searches for exact phrase
|Truncation (usually an *)
||Searches for all forms of a word
|Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
||Lets you broaden or narrow your search
|Database thesaurus or index
||Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses