Abby Williams Hill (1861–1943) was a painter and activist with an insatiable love of travel and learning. Just as her artwork provides us with a lasting vision of many of the iconic sights of the American West, her papers paint a remarkably rich picture of American life between the Civil War and World War II. The collection was donated to Puget Sound by Mrs. Romayne (Ina) Hill."
A browsing collection of photographs of the artists’ book collection of the University of Puget Sound Collins Memorial Library. Available for onsite viewing in the Archives & Special Collections by request. Please note: to search within the Collins artists' books collection only, you will need to check the 'search within results' box.
2015 - Present
The Asian Studies Program provides courses on Asian cultures, civilizations, and societies, in a broad range that includes East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia, as electives for all students. The underlying assumption of all aspects of the Asian Studies Program is that the vast region labeled “Asia” is complex and diverse and that varied Asian peoples and institutions have greatly influenced, and continue to influence, human experience throughout the world.
Years: 2009 - Present
Arches is the current alumni magazine of the University of Puget Sound. It is published quarterly and distributed worldwide to 40,000 alumni, parents, and friends of the university. Its mission is to foster communication among these constituencies and with the university by reporting on issues of importance to both.
2012 - Present
This collection provides a list of winning essays from the Book Collecting Contest at the University of Puget Sound. Some links may require you to enter your Puget Sound ID and password to view the summary or full-text content.
In these pages you will find periodic discussions of campus and world events, resources to educate and engage yourself on issues of social justice, recipes and tips for feeding yourself on a budget, recommendations for some of our favorite Tacoma hang-outs, and ways you can join in.
We look forward to sharing some of the stories of the Center for Intercultural and Civic Engagement (aka the Yellow House) and what we are about as well as highlighting the work of our many partners on and off-campus.
In a world where politics and government increasingly impacts the everyday lives of global citizens, there is an everpresent need to inform the people around us. Created by us, a collection of students, The Commons aims to act as a forum for undergraduate students to share their work, promote new ideas, and educate their peers.
This collection documents the 2015 exhibition held at the Collins Memorial Library and organized by Lucia Harrison. The exhibit focused on an interdisciplinary theme featuring natural history specimens, artists' books, and poems selected from an international call for entries.
Hosted by the Collins Memorial Library, “Exploring the Latino Experience in Tacoma: A Panel Discussion,” was a student-led panel discussion between members of Puget Sound’s Latinos Unidos student group and individuals affiliated with Centro Latino, a local organization that supports the Latino community in Tacoma.
Puget Sound faculty members are teacher-scholars. This collection provides a glimpse into the continuing engagement with the life of the mind that faculty members model for students, in and beyond the classroom
This collection acts as an incomplete index of faculty members’ published. Where possible, we have provided links to summary or full text versions of these works.
HIDE/SEEK: Difference and Desire in American Portraiture, an exhibition of art exploring sexual identities, exhibited at the Tacoma Art Museum March 17 - June 10, 2012. The University of Puget Sound hosted a panel discussion related to the exhibition on March 1, titled HIDE, But Not Seek: Censorship in Art and in the Queer Community. This is a collection of remarks that the panelists prepared.
What is now Review: The Journal of Dramaturgy was for many years the LMDA Review and before that, for three early issues, Program Notes, and initially, simply, Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas: Newsletter, Vol. 1, No. 1, 1986. Over the years, the Review has included essays, interviews, conference announcements and reports, interviews, transcripts of speeches, and organizational business (elections, bylaws, initiatives, awards, and so forth).
On some occasions, multiple issues appeared in a single year; in others, none at all. In 1996 and 1997, volume 8.1 appears twice, an error in numbering that suggest to some extent the precarious history of its existence. Nevertheless, between 1986 and the present, a remarkable series of editors, associate editors, and authors with the assistance of several dedicated LMDA administrators published over fifty issues of the Review.
In addition to the LMDA Review, which began as a newsletter, LMDA and LMDA Canada have over the years published newsletters under various names other than the Review. You will find these publications below. If you notice gaps in our collection, and have access to material to fill that gap, please contact Professor Sara Freeman (email@example.com) or Professor Emeritus Geoff Proehl (firstname.lastname@example.org) of the University of Puget Sound.
The Archive wishes to thank Brian Quirt for collecting and forwarding the LMDA Canada Newsletters, and to all the editors and authors who have made these publications possible, with particular appreciation to Jeremy Stoller. Owing to the somewhat occasional nature of the publications, Identification by date, volume, or number is not always consistent. Finally, our ongoing appreciation to Lori Ricigliano (Retired Associate Director of User Services and Theatre Liaison Librarian, University of Puget Sound) for her many hours of commitment to this archive and the art of dramaturgy.
1913 - 2011
Klahowya was the first yearbook published for the University of Puget Sound in 1913 and only had one volume, though there are some commencement issues that resemble the yearbook format in The Trail. The yearbook resumed publication in 1920 under the title Tamanawas, and has been published annually since. It has kept this title through various changes in the name of its sponsoring institution: College of Puget Sound, 1914-1960; University of Puget Sound, 1960-present. The Underground was published instead of Tamanawas for the 1997-1998 school year and numbered v. 1; Tamanawas resumed with 1998-1999. No volumes were published in 1991, 2002, 2003, and 2004.
1895 - Present
The Trail is an independent, student-run newspaper funded by the Associated Students of the University of Puget Sound. The Trail staff produce a weekly newspaper with information relevant to students. Physical copies of the issues are available in the Archives & Special Collections. Contact email@example.com for more information.
2010 - Present
The Race and Pedagogy Conference, organized by the University of Puget Sound’s Race and Pedagogy Initiative, is held every four years. This conference brings local, regional, national and international participants together to engage issues of race and its impact on education.
The Redford Conference in Archaeology was held at the University of Puget Sound, October 25 - 27, 2012. The conference dealt with themes of technology and how it impacts the world in ways that previous centuries could not have imagined.
2016 - Present
Relics, Remnants, and Religion: An Undergraduate Journal in Religious Studies publishes original student papers, art, poetry, and creative writing about or relating to religious studies. A large part of this field is to question the very definition of “religious studies.” The journal seeks to publish work that continues to expand and push the boundaries of that definition.
This collection of photographs features more than 100 artists' books created by Shereen LaPlantz, an internationally recognized artist, author, and teacher. The collection was donated to the University of Puget Sound in 2017 by Ken and Rochelle Monner of Tacoma, Washington. Showcasing a myriad of book structures, from innovative modifications of classic bindings to her own creations. Shereen LaPlantz talked about her personal book collection in this video.
2015 - Present
Sound Decisions: An Undergraduate Bioethics Journal publishes original student work in the interdisciplinary field of bioethics. Undergraduates are invited to submit original work that engages in the questions and problems of bioethics.
1895 - Present
Sound Ideas represents the scholarship and creative works of the faculty, staff and students of the University of Puget Sound. Sound Ideas, organized and made accessible by Collins Memorial Library, demonstrates our institutional commitment to helping enrich the global academic community through sharing and collaboration.
Over the past few years the colloquium has evolved significantly from a small in-house exercise for Puget Sound faculty in Hispanic Studies to what is progressively becoming a regional conference. Sessions on Latin American, Peninsular, and Latino literature and culture with colleagues from regional institutions mix with sessions showcasing the work of selected undergraduates from upper-level literature classes.
2001 - Present
University of Puget Sound students create scholarly works in an array of disciplines. This collection is a sample of graduate and undergraduate theses, and other exceptional work created by our students.
The Summer Research collection features undergraduate research projects conducted as part of the Summer Research Program in the Sciences and Mathematics and the Summer Research Program for undergraduates in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.
2010 - Present
The University of Puget Sound, with the support of the Richard Bangs Collier Institute of Ethics and Science and an anonymous donor, has established summer research programs for undergraduates in the arts, humanities and social sciences. These programs offer students the opportunity to engage in independent research projects during the summer.
2010 - Present
The Summer Research Program in the Sciences and Mathematics is designed to encourage and support research projects conducted by Puget Sound students and their faculty mentors in the natural sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, computer science, or exercise science.
2004 - Present
This collection documents the process of faculty directed campus productions from script to stage through images of set, stage and costume renderings and photographs, production photographs, programs, and posters.
1889 - Present
Selected documents from the Archives & Special Collections, which serves as a resource center for the study of the history of the University of Puget Sound. Students, faculty, visiting scholars, and members of the public with research inquiries are welcome to consult the Archives & Special Collections. An overview of the contents of the collection is available at Collins Memorial Library. Note: Some documents in these collections reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times. Neither the library nor the university endorses all the views expressed in these collections, some of which may contain materials offensive to some readers.
Wetlands Magazine is the University of Puget Sound’s campus publication dedicated to the critical interrogation of gender, sexuality, ability, age, class, race, embodiment, intersectional identities and social justice as well as the celebration of related art, poetry, literature and performance.
Wetlands Magazine aspires to be an inclusive, accessible, critical and safe forum for student advocacy. The magazine was founded during the 2011-2012 academic year by then-seniors Anya Callahan, Ruby Aliment, and Megan Chambers as a student club. In 2013 Wetlands Magazine was made a part of the Gender Studies Program, and in Spring 2015 it became an official ASUPS medium.
Wetlands Magazine is staffed, edited and as of 2014 funded entirely by students. Because of the nature of a student publication, the magazine is itself a project constantly under reconstruction, always dynamic in response to the concerns of the campus community. We hope to facilitate and contribute to a comprehensive reflection of unique experiences and thoughts in our community through the medium of a student publication oriented toward the advocacy of marginalized students and the celebration of their identities.